Chancellor's Sunrise Breakfast

Northshore Technical Community College Hosts Inaugural Chancellor’s
Sunrise Breakfast to Benefit Student Scholarships


Over 100 of St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Washington, and St. Helena Parish business, educational, and government leaders convened on March 24, 2016, at the Madisonville Maritime Museum to support Northshore Technical Community College at its inaugural Chancellor’s Sunrise Breakfast, in honor of NTCC student scholarship recipients. This unprecedented fully-sponsored event, endorsed by the community of the northshore, allowed all contributions to directly benefit and create future student scholarships through registration and silent auction proceeds.

Scholarship opportunities are directly correlated to Northshore Technical Community College’s ability to service and advance its mission. Through efforts made by the Louisiana Community & Technical College System (LCTCS), The Sullivan Vocational Foundation, The Council for International Educational Exchange, The Greater Mandeville Police Foundation, NTCC’s first Endowed Scholarship by the benefactors of the late Alphonse Abadie with a dollar match through the LA Board of Regents, and Northshore Technical Community College’s faculty and staff, twelve scholarship recipients were honored. Chancellor William S. Wainwright stated, “The response from the northshore business community in support of our students is overwhelming. We are sincerely grateful for the investment that key stakeholders are making in advancing workforce training solutions and supporting deserving students in their career aspirations.”

The following scholarships were presented:

Give Where You Live Scholarship made possible by LCTCS. Recipient was Star Farmer of Amite. Silky Sullivan Memorial Scholarship made possible by the Greater Mandeville Foundation and family and friends of Charles “Silky” Sullivan. Recipients were Erica Ammerman of Mandeville and Tequilla Santee of Abita Springs. Sullivan Foundation Scholarship made possible by The Sullivan Foundation. Recipient was Spencer Graves of Franklinton. CIEE Global Maritime Collaboration Travel Abroad Scholarship made possible through the efforts of NTCC and The Council for International Educational Exchange. Recipient was Samuel Howard of Salmen High School. The Alphonse “Gator” Abadie Endowed Scholarship made possible by the Abadie family and LA Board of Regents. Recipient was Star Farmer of Amite. Gators Give Student Scholarship made possible by NTCC’s 2015 Internal Giving Campaign. Recipients were Matthew Campo of Amite, Ivana George of Independence, David Johnson of Pearl River, and Robert Thompson of Madisonville. Gators Give Faculty & Staff Advancement Awards made possible by NTCC’s 2015 Internal Giving Campaign. Recipients were Beth Alford, Connect to Success Faculty and Sandy Duffourc, Connect to Success Staff.

The venue was graciously donated at no expense by Madisonville Maritime Museum; banquet equipment donated by Cole’s Rental World of Covington; food donated by Acquistapace’s Covington Supermarket, Coffee Rani of Mandeville, Sam’s Club of Covington, The Salad Station and Berry Town Produce of Hammond, and Nonna Randazzo’s Italian Bakery of Covington; and financial contributions were made by CGB Fertilizer of Covington and Gulf Coast Bank of Covington. The silent auction incorporated 12 unique packages, all donated from businesses located in Mandeville, Covington, Slidell, and Hammond, with a total value over $3,500. NTCC students were highlighted as the food was prepared by Northshore Technical Community College’s culinary program with the wait staff consisting of Student Government Association members and student volunteers enrolled in NTCC’s Customer Service classes.

NTCC continues to advance on all fronts because of the community that is committed to its success. With the accomplished goal of making this inaugural event 100% funded by the community, NTCC’s faculty, staff, administration, and most importantly, students will be able to continue their mission of “building futures” knowing that they have full support of the northshore community. NTCC students benefit enormously from steadfast support, which also affirms the community’s confidence in its endeavors.


2016 NTCC Scholarship Recipients

Gators Give Student Scholarships

Matthew Campo

Ivana George 

David Johnson

​Robert Thompson

Presented by: Dr. Lizette Leader and Joanna Dillman 

Gators Give Faculty &Staff Advancement Award

Faculty: Beth Alford

Staff: Sandy Duffourc

Presented by:  Dr. William Wainwright 

Give Where You Live

Star Farmer

Presented by: Stephanie Ercolini 

Silky Sullivan Memorial Scholarship

Tequilla Santee

Erica Ammerman

Presented by: Shelby LaSalle, Lori Rase, Chris King 

Sullivan Foundation Scholarship

Spencer Graves

Presented by: Dr. William Wainwright 

CIEE Global Maritime Collaboration Travel Abroad Scholarship

Samuel Howard

Presented by: Dr. Daniel Roberts 

Alphonse "Gator" Abadie Endowed Scholarship

Star Farmer

Presented by: Linette Abadie, Dr. Jim and Jessica Carlson


The Chancellor's Tweets

Stay Social with Northshore's Latest Posts